Gifted Education

Differentiation HELP!

>

Disillusioned

Disillusioned

Differentiation HELP!
Old 11-01-2008, 02:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have eleven identified students in my GATE classroom. This is my first year teaching the GATE kids, and I feel like a failure. I'm honored to have my principal put so much faith in me and offer me the position, but I don't know if what I am doing is correct in any way. How exactly does a gifted differentiation room look like? For example, in math, do I direct teach a mini lesson then let five different groups of students work on their academic levels? My kids get so envious when it comes to any one of them doing something "different." Then they whine and tell their parents. I feel like a student myself in that I need to watch a model. I do have Susan Winebrenner's book, but I'm struggling to implement all her ideas. Can anyone offer baby-step guidelines to help me? Thanks!

yesteach

Winebrenner
Old 11-02-2008, 03:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If they whine, allow them to do the work. As long as they can pass, then leave them there.. just because they aren't GATE doesn't mean they can't handle the level of work... there are those kids who are just mathematically gifted... or who test badly when tested for GATE.. give them a chance and then they have no reason to complain if they can't handle it.

Another thing I always did at the beginning of the year before I began differentiating was tell the whole class that everyone learns differently - different rates, different ways, etc. and that everyone won't always be doing the same thing at the same time - however, everyone will be working at their level. I always add how I was always high in reading, and low in math - and I just have to do math slower than other people.. but in language and reading, I always got finished and bored.. this way, everyone works at their pace and no one gets finished and bored and EVERYONE learns!