Help

Fifth Grade

Any Harry Wong experts out there?

>

AmyJ

Any Harry Wong experts out there?
Old 07-22-2009, 10:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Though I've been teaching for several years I haven't read the First Days of School cover to cover until this summer. Wow! I have really enjoyed it and am going to implement some of his suggestions.

Question: They suggest having a piece of "bellwork" ready to go. I have always done this but it is the same thing everyday. We work through a language arts practice book and I give the kids 5 problems each morning then we go over it together. Should the "bellwork" be something DIFFERENT each day?

Any other thoughts on the suggestions of Harry Wong?

AmyJ is offline   Reply With Quote

kas327

not an expert
Old 07-22-2009, 02:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I completely agree with "bellwork." I have found that if the students are not accountable for what they do when they first come in, then it doesn't work. For example, begin it, we'll go over it in 10 minutes, type of thing. They will just wait until you go over it. However, if you have them come in, work on it and share with their group what they did, or collect it, something to motivate them to do the work, seems to work better.
I have done both, the same thing everyday or something new each day of the week. Personally, I don't think it really matters, as long as the students have a purpose for doing whatever is asked of them. I hope this makes sense.
kas327 is offline   Reply With Quote

gunther922

I love Harry Wong
Old 07-22-2009, 02:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I too finally read the whole book last summer. It is a wonderful book. It has everything a teacher needs in one place! Regarding the bellwork, as long as you have bellwork every morning it doesn't matter if it is different each day.

Let me know some of the things you most liked about his book. I really like how they emphasize teaching procedures to your students. It truly does make a difference.