Help

Fifth Grade

Behavioural Problems

>

worldangel

Behavioural Problems
Old 07-25-2009, 05:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first time teaching 5th graders because before this I have always been teaching either 2nd or 3rd. I find my current class a bit of a challenge because not only they are weak academically, but some of them tend to be rebellious and disruptive during lessons as well. I have tried talking nicely, reasoning, shouting, threatening but nothing seems to work. To be fair, only 2 to 3 of them tend to behave like this consistently, and I suspect it is due to peer pressure (one of them is the ringleader and has been asking the rest to follow him in his disruptive behaviour). It has gotten so bad that I had to keep stopping my lesson to address the misbehaviour and the rest of the class has written in their journals that their learning is affected as so much time is wasted on settling down the class.

Any ideas on how to curb this problem?

worldangel is offline   Reply With Quote

ViolaSwamp

A few ideas
Old 07-25-2009, 06:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I've had several kids just like this and I've found the following things work really well:
- 1 -- Pull them aside or go to their desk and talk quietly when you need to reprimand them. You're right about the peer pressure; often if kids are yelled at in front of the class they'll be disrespectful back to try to save face w/ their classmates. Pulling them aside allows them to whisper back to you and not feel quite so embarassed.