Fifth Grade

Sage advice for first year teaching?

>

humanaquarian

Sage advice for first year teaching?
Old 07-26-2009, 06:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

Just got my Teaching Certification and my first job! In this tight job market, I feel lucky, but, at the same time, I am confident I possess the skills to be a great teacher and I realize just because i have the skills, doesn't mean I will do great in my first year! GULP!

I am 37, a videographer by trade, used to be a Chef and have worked in the family roofing business when I was young and in much better shape! I am no stranger to hard work, imaginative ideas and implimenting technology into my work.

I live in the city and chose to work in the low income type elementary schools- because that is where quality teaching is needed most.

I realize Im going not only into a tough situation, but also a tough grade...after I tell people what grade Im teaching, they always say " Good luck! ", but with this devilish grin...I dont know...It kinda creeps me out.

Anyway, my question is this..."Is 5th grade exceptionally challenging( especially inner city) ?" and "Is that devilish grin going to haunt me all year?"

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thats all for now...Ill keep you posted in my up and comming Blog.

humanaquarian is offline   Reply With Quote
crockpotqueen
Old 07-26-2009, 06:42 AM
This message has been deleted by crockpotqueen.

lynnylubner

I agree
Old 07-26-2009, 07:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote:
Establish simple and regular routines and be consistent. You are going to have some really difficult/street-wise kids most likely. You need to come up with a system of simple rules and consequences and make sure you really discuss this in depth with the kids (why good behavior from everyone is important). Discuss realistic goals with the kids.. have them think of a goal for themselves and discuss what it will take to reach that goal.