Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

A poll

>

jellydonut

A poll
Old 09-14-2009, 05:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

1. What types of discipline/reward system do you use?

2. How would you rate it's effectiveness?

jellydonut is offline   Reply With Quote

Valone

Old 09-14-2009, 05:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Okay, you are going to HATE this....

I don't use one.
Every once in awhile I may have a child who I need to do something with, but it is usually very short term and designed for that child.

I have 20+ years experience in special education and about 1/3 of those years were middle-high school.

I actually enjoy the challenge (I was a very challenging child). So----- sorry I can't help you.

HUmmmm, maybe I'm somewhere between 1, 2, 3, Magic and Disciple with Love and Logic?
I prefer to think I have 'the look'.
Valone is offline   Reply With Quote

Ruby07

Lol, Valone......
Old 09-14-2009, 06:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

SAME HERE!!!!

I expect the children to behave. And they do (for the most part). No sticker charts, no turning tags, no stoplights, no apple baskets or candy jars. When a child makes a choice to misbehave, s/he is spoken to about the choice and reminded about the rule.

This works for 99% of my students.

Last year, I had a couple of boys who were beyond this approach (or lack thereof). They ended up being referred to Special Ed. One has Aspberger's, and the other was classified Emotionally Disturbed. Those two needed more. And I provided it for them.

But truly.......especially at this pre-K level........less is more. Don't get caught up and bogged down with some involved behavior management system.
Ruby07 is offline   Reply With Quote

happytosub

Old 09-14-2009, 06:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Me three!