Help

ESL/LEP

ESL in Primary Grades

>

teachernyc

ESL in Primary Grades
Old 10-04-2009, 03:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm an upper grade teacher with ten years of experience in grades 3-5 and was newly hired to teach ESL to Kindergarten and 1st grade students. Though I have my cert. in ESL and have taught ELLs in the mainstream classroom, I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed by the change in age and becoming a push-in teacher.

Any recommendations for working with this age group in a push-in only program? I'm concerned that the K classroom is such a busy place that if I'm pushing in and doing my own lesson, my students will have a hard time concentrating.

Also...any website/book recommendations?

teachernyc is offline   Reply With Quote

Laura

Push in
Old 10-07-2009, 04:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

When I hear push in (which i do too) I understand it to be how do you fit the curriculum to the child(ren). I work on assignments that the child has difficulty with.
I am just the opposite of you. I push in grades 3-6 after 18 years at the kindergarten and preschool level. I work particularly on analogies and vocabulary. I hope to get to writing as well.
I work on their assignments and adapting them to better fit the child.
Laura is offline   Reply With Quote

teachernyc

Pushing In
Old 10-08-2009, 06:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thank you for your response, Laura. The problem I'm having is that I am, at times, pushing in during snack time or centers and the K rooms can be so rowdy that it is difficult to pull my ELLs aside and keep their attention. It's easier with my advanced students when I can support the students at their level with what the teacher is teaching, but my principal wishes to have me teaching a minilesson (workshop model) with my ELLs when I push-in which can be very difficult in a bust and already crowded classroom!
teachernyc is offline   Reply With Quote

louzzianna

Use their classmates as a resource
Old 10-29-2009, 08:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4