ESL/LEP

question

>

Pennie

Pennie

question
Old 10-11-2009, 07:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a teacher who is considering getting certified to teach ESL. I am interested to know what you spend most of your time doing. Can you describe a typical day? What do you like most and least about teaching ESL? I work part time in a small school where we do not have any ESL help. Every year I end up with at least one student who speaks no English and I have loved helping these children. I know I would need to go back to school to get an additional degree or certificate, but do you think volunteering in a school with ESL children would also help? Thank you so much for any information you can give me. I appreciate it!

MissESL

My Day...
Old 10-15-2009, 10:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

8 - I get to school. I usually have a veritable line of teachers waiting to tell me this or ask me that, or I have a PBIS or faculty meeting. If not that I am planning, because I won't have time for it later.
830 - 4th grade group comes in. I teach them reading separately, because there wee too many to pull out individually. It's like having a mini class--small group setting. I do plan and create for these kids. I give them their grade, etc. I can only do this during a core subject, because I am a highly qualified teacher for K - 8 grades.
9:40 -- Both fifth graders come in and a 6th grader comes in, too. One is a non-speaker, the other is a 5th grade LA pull out. Juggle both boys until 10, then the non-speaker leaves for Title. Continue working with the 5th grade LA student. The 6t grade girl comes in for homework help only at this time.
10:20 -- The sixth grade LD LEP comes in for Science. He is a behavior challenge. I juggle him with the 5th grade LA student.
10:40 -- The LA student leaves. Continue working with LD LEP.
11:00 -- Go to 6th grade girl's math class to help her.