Help

Fifth Grade

Reading workshop

>

BRONX

Reading workshop
Old 05-28-2010, 10:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was wondering if anyone uses reading workshop with their students? If so do the students write you letters after reading or do they complete a reader response? Also, is anyone using "Independent Reading Inside the box"? I saw the resource mentioned here and wanted to know if it would go with the TC model.

BRONX is offline   Reply With Quote

dlynneteacher

Using Reading Workshop
Old 05-28-2010, 11:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have been using reading workshop for 5 years. I just moved to 5th last year, and will continue using it in 5th this year. I personally quit using the letter format after my first year of teaching RR (3rd grade at the time). It just didn't work for me- or maybe I gave up too soon. I am currently using post its and a column chart format in thier reading response notebook. They use whatever they are reading. For example, if we are studying cause & effect, their column headings are: page#, cause, effect, respose. I always model what I want from them a common story we read together. Students somplete the assignments during independent reading. It worked well for the kids as well as myself. I love RR, I work on it every year, and I fell I have gotten better and better.
dlynneteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

kay/5

Letters
Old 05-28-2010, 01:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I'm not sure if I'm using my Reader's Notebooks the way you were or not but I love using them. I have each student write me a letter about their silent reading book once a week. Then, I respond back to each student on the day that his/her's is due. I've had some wonderful conversations with my students through their notebooks. And, they're wonderful to look back through at the end of the year to see how the student has grown.
kay/5 is offline   Reply With Quote

noclue

Old 05-28-2010, 06:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4