Fifth Grade

reading help!!!

>

teachercr

teachercr

reading help!!!
Old 08-28-2010, 05:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was wondering if anyone could help me... I have a 5th grade special education reading class with extreme differences in the levels of students. I have 75 minutes to teach spelling, vocab, phonics, reading, language arts, grammar, and writing, etc. One child is very dyslexic, and 1 child (whose parents pushed for the regular state testing, opposed to the alternate test) reads at a first grade level. I know as a teacher I am expected to differentiate my teaching, but I feel lost with where to begin. Our school does not have a "reading program" so I usually just pull my own material/ or create my own which consumes a lot of my planning time.
In this particular group some of the parents are very demanding and rather quick to complain about the lack of progress they see at home. Any thoughts on ideas???? I will have about 10 students in this pull out class. THANK YOU!

ColoradoTeach

reading
Old 08-28-2010, 06:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That sounds like a tough class!! With 75 minutes I would do a mini lesson with the whole class and then divide them up into three groups and have them rotate. I would have one group with me doing a novel study or reading a leveled reader (you can get them at reading a to z dot com), one group doing word work (words their way is a great program for different levels) and the third group doing reader's workshop, reading independently with maybe a journal response. I know lots of people on the board use daily 5 and CAFE and those sound like great ideas also.
ColoradoTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

jennybea2

An idea
Old 08-29-2010, 06:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3