Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

doubting if it's right for me.

>

ab1007

ab1007

doubting if it's right for me.
Old 03-03-2011, 05:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am in my first year teaching Pre-k at a daycare. I have always worked with children ages 4-5 and loved that age, the curiosity, how cute they are, etc. Now I have my own classroom and I am losing it. I work long varied hours (sometimes I come in early, sometimes late, we have to rotate with assistants). The schedule is rigid and they don't allow much freedom. My commute is over an hour. My boss is bipolar; your best friend one minute and snapping at you the next. She is NEVER in my classroom and I have ZERO support. I feel like I have no time for myself and I've begun to take it out on the kids.

This is the worst part. I lose my patience with them so easily and I always go home feeling like a horrible teacher. I hate going home feeling like a bully--they are just babies and I forget that sometimes. I am starting to wonder if working with kids so young is right for me, but it's so disappointing because I have always enjoyed working with children this age, how could it be worse once I have the freedom to do the things I want with them?

I do care and I have great ideas and lessons. But I want to be a GREAT preschool teacher who is loving and nurturing, but I find that I lose my patience/temper too easily...I would love some advice from veteran and/or new teachers who have experienced this. How can I be more patient and loving with these kids? Am I just not cut out for the babies?

ab1007

ab1007

Old 03-03-2011, 06:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I should also add that i have SO SO much paperwork, which adds to my stress level.

NovPSU07

Hi
Old 03-03-2011, 08:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3