Help

Kindergarten

"My kid reverses letters/numbers and can't spell"

>

njteacherk

"My kid reverses letters/numbers and can't spell"
Old 03-24-2011, 05:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I had a parent who is very concerned about the two issues I posted in the title:

her son reverses some numbers and often confuses letters like b and d.
she is also concerned that he doesn't spell well.

Before I write her back I wanted to get some thoughts about this.

Firstly, as a K teacher I am not overly concerned when students reverse letters/numbers. I think it is a developmental thing and comes with time. Obviously we discuss it in school and i expect students to make corrections when pointed out. The same goes for the "bd" reversal. We discuss and fix it when it comes up but if students are still confusing the two I dont get worried. Am I wrong to not be that concerned about these issues?

In terms of spelling, we don't "teach" spelling in Kindergarten in my curriculum. The students are expected to write and spell sight words and short c-v-c words. When we do "writing" I do encourage them to sound out or stretch out the words they don't know by writing all the sounds they hear (inventive spelling). As we learn some "chunks" like sh, th, ch the students are starting to apply these to their writing but we really don't focus on spelling patterns. Once again, am I wrong to not be concerned with students spelling ability at this point?

njteacherk is offline   Reply With Quote

dee

Totally developmental
Old 03-24-2011, 06:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I know our sped dept (I am sped) would not even consider testing for these particular issues.

You definitely want the parent to feel as though they were heard, so...
It's development and is often seen at the K level.
Reversals are often seen in 1st grade as well.
Something to keep an eye on.
You will continue the strategies you are already doing.