Is a western theme too babyish for 5th Grade? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Fifth Grade

Is a western theme too babyish for 5th Grade?

>

cowgirlteach*

Is a western theme too babyish for 5th Grade?
Old 05-13-2011, 08:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi I am a first year teacher and recently got a 5th grade teaching position. I have really been looking into doing a western theme, but I do not want it to be too babyish. I was thinking maybe if I tie it into real events like the westward expansion that it would be better.

If anyone has done a western theme or seen one done in a 5th grade classroom, I would appreciate any ideas or suggestions that you may have.

cowgirlteach* is offline   Reply With Quote

sky22

Theme
Old 05-13-2011, 10:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

In some places it could be - but if you are in a western state it might not be.
I wouldn't go cutesy cowboy stuff- I would keep it maybe to westward expansion and pioneers as you suggested. Study of Lewis and Clark, then moving into expansion and Oregon trail, necessity of cattle drives etc. Maybe more of a pioneer cowboy theme.

My kids have enjoyed the books Old Yeller, and Sign of the Beaver to support this theme. Not really cowboy, but pioneer.
sky22 is offline   Reply With Quote

parker

I agree with sky22
Old 05-14-2011, 03:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

One of the really enjoyable things about 5th graders, well most of them , is that they want to be thought of as more mature. They do not want to be thought of as babies, nor do they want to be treated as adults or even teenagers yet, and most are eager to step forward a little bit out of that elementary shell. They are becoming much more aware of the real world.

A more mature "theme" (if you must do one) is appropriate.