Gifted Education

Brand new to gifted!

>

bubbly25

Brand new to gifted!
Old 07-06-2011, 03:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello!

This will be my first year teaching a second grade enrichment/gifted class. I know that when teaching gifted students they need work to challenge them to think at a higher level. How do you get your students to do this in reading, writing, math, science? I would just like some guidance to get me started... Anything else that I should know about teaching gifted students? What morning work is ideal for gifted second graders? What homework do you give your gifted students? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated as I am new at this field of teaching and want to be an awesome teacher for my gifted kiddos!

bubbly25 is offline   Reply With Quote

yesteach

Enjoy
Old 07-06-2011, 04:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Will you have all gifted, all day? If so, you need to almost look at it as teaching third grade (or at least that's what I've always done). I make sure that students can master the grade level objectives, but then we just move right on to the next grade level - especially if you are feeding into a gifted third/fourth/etc.

Are they coming from a gifted first grade class where they've already been introduced to the gifted way of thinking/learning? If so, that makes it a little easier because they know what to expect. If not, you need to spend some time teaching them what "gifted" means - finding their strengths and weaknesses, finding their passions, finding their own learning styles... there is a great book if you can find it by George Betts, Autonomous Learner for K-3. I tried to find it online, but apparently he is no longer selling it, as the website is dead... If you will PM me I will be glad to share the info I have from it, as I've attended several of his training sessions. He is amazing.

Also, check out most any thing from Bertie Kingore, Nancy Polette, her son Keith Polette