Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

Graduation Ideas Help

>

Newbie34

Newbie34

Graduation Ideas Help
Old 01-05-2006, 08:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone I have just learned that I will have to plan a graduation ceremony for my 4-5yr old class. This is my first time teaching this curriculum and hvaing to plan a graduation for the children. When I came into this job the children were already a month behind the curriculum. I am trying to catch them up but I jave never worked with this curriculum before and not sure what is expexted. The teacher before me ia the only one in the center that knows anything about the curriculum and its teachings but she isnt around anymore. I work with the ABEKA curriculum, if anyone has any ideas, please help. Thanks in advance.

Janet

Janet

Why is the ceremony tied to curriculum?
Old 01-07-2006, 09:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I vastly prefer a simple "graduation" where the children sing some of the songs they've learned and then are called up one by one to receive a small gift from the preschool. The whole thing lasts maybe 15 minutes and then everyone has punch and cookies.

TrekBikeWife

Ditto - simple!
Old 01-08-2006, 04:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

When we had ours, the a.m. kids chose a song, the p.m. kids chose a song and I chose a poem or a song and all the kids performed these together. I can send you my poems/songs that I chose (they're on my computer at school) if you want - chrisalana@sbcglobal.net

I gave out attendance awards and graduation diplomas and that was about it.

Punch, cake, hugs. Low stress on kids, lower stress on the teachers.
TrekBikeWife is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-06-2006, 07:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4