How long have you been seeking a teaching position? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The Job Search

How long have you been seeking a teaching position?

>

waiting game

waiting game

How long have you been seeking a teaching position?
Old 06-08-2012, 06:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Out of curiosity, are any of you willing to share what you are certified in, where you live, and how long you have been seeking a position?

I believe the answers to that question will truly help me decide if I am completely going to give up my dream of teaching. I am sick of just long-term positions. They are such a tease. I hate to "give-up", but really, how long can one wait??

Velouria

Old 06-08-2012, 08:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm certified in elementary (my initial certification) and then obtained middle school math and family & consumer science. I'm 28 years old and have been trying to get a contracted job since I graduated at 22. 6 long years. Of those 6, I have had numerous LTS positions, including 2 non-consecutive full year positions. Each position went great with exemplary evaluations, but either the teacher returned, there were no available positions, or the teacher retired, but they cut the position instead. I've just had bad luck. In between, I did day to day subbing, which I do not enjoy all that much but make the best of it. I am almost ready to throw in the towel, but am interested to know how long others have been trying.
Velouria is offline   Reply With Quote

kysub

I am over 40, and I have quit looking
Old 06-08-2012, 08:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

for a teaching position. All the districts around me seem to only hire teachers in their 20s. I think it is age discrimination, but how do I prove it? Also, men seem to get hired for jobs. Not to mention people's relatives getting hired. It is not going to happen for me. Good luck to everyone else.
kysub is offline   Reply With Quote

schmo75

they always show interest then poof!