Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

sad and need encouragement

>

mamaduffyof3

sad and need encouragement
Old 08-27-2012, 12:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

SO... I am new to pre-k. Had 2 inspiring pro. devel. days last week and spent 4 hours in my new classroom Friday, arranging and re-arranging the room. When I leftm I felt like it was almost there but not quite. Today I met my assistant at the room for an hour before more required meetings.
She seemed mad that I had worked on the room without her. But I texted her and told her I was going Friday. Told her I'd love her input, but understood if she didn't want to give up one of her summer days. She had much input. Mostly bad. I sucked it up and realized she had a better perpective than I.
Then my supervisor came in and pointed out more things to "work on", sigh. I really do want to do this right. I feel like maybe I'm clueless.
Then I went to show her the cutest idea. My daughter gave me 2 stuffed frogs. We named them and gave them personalities that would support kids being true to themselves and not just believing in stereotypes. My daughter even wrote little story books about them. I had planned on them being our class mascots. Before I could even begin to explain, she interrupted me to inform me no stuffed animals were allowed in the classroom. I actually burst out crying! So embarrased.
I am just wondering if I am going to fail at this.
I feel kinda' discouraged and overwhelmed.
any advice?

mamaduffyof3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Valone

Old 08-27-2012, 12:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

What kind of pre-K does not allow stuffed animals! That is nuts! We have a goofy looking lizard someone got at a fair.

I never invite the aide to help. If they asked, I would be happy for them to join me. However, based on their hourly pay, I would not expect them to come and volunteer.
Valone is offline   Reply With Quote

CowTipper22

Old 08-27-2012, 01:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3