Help

Substitute Teachers

Your Opinion Please

>

Mindfood

Your Opinion Please
Old 01-26-2017, 10:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm new to the game, having only started this month. Apparently there's quite a demand for subs in our High School District. I took a job yesterday where I felt the teacher's lesson plan was overly ambitious, (very detailed instructions, even to the point of telling me what words to say to the class) and with what I consider to be an excessive amount of paperwork to deal with. Three 90 minute classes with 24-26 students each. I was instructed to hand out two worksheets per student and after completion, discuss, then, collect back in student numbered order. Further, I was instructed to hand back a recent exam that included the scan tron sheet, the test itself, and a information packet related to the test material, all student specific, discuss results, and then all required to be collected back in order of student id number.
After the first class I was able to figure out a way to streamline this process for the remaining classes, but come on, I was still having to deal with 375 to 400 pieces of paperwork for the day, organize all that including attendance sheets, have 3 students take the test on a make-up, and set up the AV for her instructed DVD. All three 90 minute classes were in a row with just a 6 minute break in between. With me being a newbie to this, am I being unreasonable in my thinking? I'm willing to work hard, but again, to my thinking, based on a 40 year career in the business world, I feel the expectations of this teacher went beyond reasonableness for any substitute.
I'd appreciate any and all input. Thank you!

Mindfood is offline   Reply With Quote

Sublime

Old 01-26-2017, 10:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2