Help

Gifted Education

gifted assessment

>

pinkpanther

gifted assessment
Old 11-15-2007, 07:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a high school teacher of gifted/talented kids. (I teach AP math courses at a public magnet school.) My oldest DD has been referred for G/T testing twice (both times by her teacher). Both times she has been short one point on the matrix of multiple criteria to qualify for further testing (an individual IQ test). She scores 4/5 for gifted characteristics and 9/10 points for performance/creativity. However, my highly verbal, non-visual kid gets no points for the aptitude portion because her NNAT score is only in the average range. DD will take the OLSAT in the spring, which could also qualify her for services. Our system uses the OLSAT/NNAT exclusively for screening, so we have no other options.

Does anyone have any experience with these tests? DD's teachers are convinced that she's gifted and not just a high achiever. My husband and I feel the same way. She writes complex stories with advanced vocabulary and detailed drawings and she has taught herself (at age 8) how to multiply 2-digit numbers. We are very frustrated!

pinkpanther is offline   Reply With Quote

yesteach

Nnat
Old 11-15-2007, 01:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

can be a problem if she is not visual/spatial, which is why we've started using other criteria and don't weight that any more than the others.

We use NNAT, CoGAT, a reading rubric that is completed by the classroom teacher, a writing sample, and a problem solving question. They have to score "gt" on five of the seven (CoGAT counts as three - verbal, quantitative and non-verbal are all scored individually).