The Job Search

inteview and salary???

>

kelly20

kelly20

inteview and salary???
Old 10-12-2005, 09:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Ok, well here's my question. I had an interview with the principal. After a few days I also had an interview with the Superintendent which went quite well. He told me that now we just have to wait until the next board meeting to see if it's approved. I have my masters, so if this was a full-time position I would be getting 43,000, but it's not. It's part-time. So he told me my salary would be half the full time. My question is if I'm supposed to work around 25-26 hours a week and a full time teacher works around 36 hours shouldn't I be getting paid more since I'm going to be working more than half their hours. If I was only working 18 hours I'd understand. So now I'm just confused. When should I talk about salary. Should I talk about it after the position is approved by the board. I'm new to this. Do I also have to sign a contract. If so I guess I would have to bring this matter up then? Or maybe he just wasn't sure how many hours I would be working. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

meg

meg

Old 10-12-2005, 11:02 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Be careful! I don't know exactly what to tell you, but it sounds weird...I always thought they worked these things out with percentages. For example, if you were working 20 hours, you would be 50% and get 50% of what an equally qualified, full time teacher would make(assuming a teacher technically works a 40 hour week, which our contract says). So if you were working more like 60-70%(like 26 hours), you would get 60-70% of the pay.

I think you need to work it out before you sign, as you may not have any recourse after. I didn't sign my cntract until after the board approved me, and I don't think we really discussed salary until that point either. I'm not sure really how to do it, except to ask straight out...good luck!

AD

My Advice
Old 10-12-2005, 09:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3