The Job Search

Please read --

>

Pam-IL

Pam-IL

Please read --
Old 05-13-2006, 03:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

After reading this week posts, some of you have interviews, some of you got job offers and a few have to make a decision between a couple of offers. So, I decided to sit down and do a personal reality check.

This past eight days, I have received 13 rejection letters from districts.
I am still in shock over the dysfunctional district – and their treatment
I have completed and sent numerous cyber-space applications – no replies yet.

I work in two districts as a sub – I enjoy sharing, guiding and teaching children and I like to work often – I have been subbing now for 5+ years.
The district I worked in the longest (4 years – FULL TIME – EVERY DAY including all the lousy, horrible no one else would take assignments), did my student teaching there, have letters of recommendation from and I am considered “stellar”. I checked with my cooperating teacher from last year about some job posts I saw. She told me that everything has been filed, with their current student teachers, and someone from Iowa. They didn’t even think of, or considered me – they forgot I existed.

The second district –(I have only worked there about 14 months) I called them and talked to HR and was told they only hire BA’s with certificates – they are cheaper. They only use MA’s for special ed., ESL, or reading. I am not any of these – nor am I bilingual. There are no positions for people like me with MA's. I was told to go to a richer district - the richer, better districts are swamped with applications. For each opening - they literally receive 1,000's of applications and since I don;'t have any classroom (my own) experience, my applications are tossed away.