Help

The Job Search

Why won't anyone hire me????

>

newbieteach

Why won't anyone hire me????
Old 05-31-2006, 02:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello all! I am new here. Just found this website. I am currently looking for an elementary teaching position in Kentucky. I graduated in December and I hope that I can get a job for the fall. I have sent out my applications to the counties within 1 hour of where I live. I then called each district and made sure that they received my application. I then was going to go visit the schools and introduce myself to the principals. Well this didn't work out too good....every school that I went to there was no one there (school is out here.) So I decided to send an introduction letter and a copy of my digital portfolio to each principal at each school I am applying for. Is there anything else that you all can recommend me doing? I want to do everything possible to give me a chance. Any suggestions that you have would be great!! Thanks for the help!

Anne Marie

newbieteach is offline   Reply With Quote

tish

maybe this would work.
Old 05-31-2006, 02:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I moved from one district to another over the summer. I did not have a job lined up. I went to the county office of this district and said that i would volunteer my time in one of the gifted classes that they taught over the summer. Since science was my strong subject, I taught a unit on the space shuttle to a group of elementary student. I ended the unit by blasting off a space shuttle from the playground. People from the county office came to 2 of my classes plus the blast off. I was offered a contract the following day. Sometimes you just have to sell yourself like a product.
tish is offline   Reply With Quote
Pam-IL

Pam-IL

You are not alone
Old 05-31-2006, 04:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Hi