Help

High School

Preparing Students for Life After Graduation

>

nooteach

Preparing Students for Life After Graduation
Old 05-01-2019, 06:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What do you wish you could do more of in preparing students for college/careers? What do you currently do? What counseling resources do your schools provide?

Thinking about these questions as the school year heads toward a close.

nooteach is offline   Reply With Quote

benkenobi

Goal Setting
Old 02-25-2020, 05:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi nooteach, I am a senior science teacher at my school, and I often think about this question. I know this response might find you a bit late, but thought I’d share my thoughts anyway for the coming years’ graduating classes.

Moving from high school to university was such a major transition that my first year still feels quite fresh in my mind. There are definitely a few things I wish I knew, especially with regards to the unfamiliar class structure. I am currently taking further studies and am currently enrolled in a course on Self-Regulated Learning (SRL) and its many strategies. This course has proven to be very eye-opening, and I always find myself excited to take my learnings to the classroom for my students to hear about.