Help

Second Grade

How do you handle "I don't care"??

>

alexserica

How do you handle "I don't care"??
Old 02-09-2012, 12:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a student who has been a major behavior challenge this year. Screaming at other students, tantrums, kicking walls, throwing books....however, this past week he has started something new. When he moves to yellow or red, or I have to ask him to adjust his behavior, he shrugs and says, "I don't care...I DON'T CARE!!!!" in front of the whole class. I have several people who assist me when I have to have him removed from the class, but I can tell my patience with this NEW issue is reeeeally thin. It sends a terrible message to my students and shows complete disrespect. I am a 3rd year teacher, and this is the first time I've dealt with this "I don't care" thing, let alone all the other things that are going on with him. I have a very good, well behaved class apart from this student.

So...how do you respond when a student says "I don't care" to you? How can you show the other students that this is unacceptable behavior? How do you not get in a power struggle? I will not do a power struggle and do not want my other students feeling like this remark..or attitude..is acceptable.

Thanks for any advice!!

alexserica is offline   Reply With Quote

christina4062

Students
Old 02-09-2012, 01:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My advice would be to find out what's really going on.

In my experience, a kid who "doesn't care" is really trying to save face in front of their peers because they really DO care.

As for your other students, they know the behavior isn't acceptable. I have a sweetheart this year who can definitely be a challenge. I have told my students on numerous occasions that we do not reward ridiculous behavior with attention... so they ignore it (as best as they can) and that usually removes the thing he is seeking and the behaviors can calm down.