Having a Nervous Breakdown- toughest situation possible! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

Having a Nervous Breakdown- toughest situation possible!

>

Lanieob

Old 09-16-2020, 07:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I would so, so grateful for your thoughts and advice. I find myself teetering on the edge of a nervous breakdown. I am a kindergarten teacher of 25+ years and turned 65 this past June. Last spring, we began remote learning due to Covid 19. During this time, starting in April, my husband a dialysis patient, starting having constant health issues- medical appointments, hospitalizations, cardiac procedures, etc. His health has been in serious decline since then. We were not required to Zoom at that time and I chose not to, because of my husband’s health issues- I did not want to be live in-case. I worked with my K team to design weekly lessons for parents in a Seesaw format.
It seemed to to work pretty well and most families participated.
Fast forward to now- we are required in Kindergarten to do daily Zoom morning meetings, math and small groups. Frankly- the training the district provided was minimal. I brought everything I could home from my classroom in my husband’s van and set up a classroom at home. I thought this would be the best option- as we are allowed to work from home. This week I had my Zoom meetings- Morning Meetings I felt was a total disaster- and I had a whole detailed plan. Parents could not get in, parents saying they couldn’t see the mute/ unmute cards I was holding up to practice, that they couldn’t hear me, couldn’t see a You Tube read/ aloud etc. Kids not listening, talking constantly while I was talking- they are only 5 after all! A real !@# show! This is not the way I want to teach Kindergarten- but no choice, I know.
In addition- on my first day- my husband was released from a rehab hospital and came home that afternoon. The doctor told me he could not be left alone.