Help

Substitute Teachers

Venting here: horrible day

>

smoh03

Venting here: horrible day
Old 02-21-2018, 02:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is going to be a long one, but I just have to get this off my chest. I am a substitute teacher, and this is my second year.

I was a roving sub yesterday, subbing for 4th, 5th, and 6th grade classes. I've subbed for these particular classes before as a roving sub, and though they weren't what we'd call "good classes," they weren't horrible. But I don't know what happened yesterday but most of the students were just so rude. The 4th grade class was difficult because they were chatty.

But the day really took a turn for the worst when I subbed for a 5th grade class next. There were these three boys who were being disruptive and disrespectful, playing with laser pointers, snickering, making comments. Boy 3 was pointing a laser pointer at Boy 2's face so I tried to take the laser pointer away from Boy 3 but he refused to give it up, saying with a smile, "The teacher lets us keep toys in class". Yeah, right, but I didn't want to cause drama so I let it go and just made a note for the teacher. It was a Spanish immersion school so they were supposed to read Spanish book during "Circulo" time. I saw the three boys and several other students reading English books and trying to fool me so I went around the class, telling them individually that they should be reading Spanish books, not English books. And Boy 2 goes "I don't understand why I need to learn Spanish," looking straight at me with the most defiant face he can manage to conjure up. At this point my patience is wearing thin.