Help

Center Activities

Cheap center ideas

>

joynteaching

Cheap center ideas
Old 06-21-2011, 05:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am totally new to balanced literacy centers. Unfortunately I just found out that I am going to have to buy most of the supplies to run my centers out of pocket due to budget issues. I would appreciate any advice on inexpensive center ideas as well as places where I can buy the basic supplies such as chart tablets cheaply. I teach students who are on pre primer to primer reading level.

joynteaching is offline   Reply With Quote

runamouth

Look outside the box!
Old 06-21-2011, 09:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You can buy chart paper at a teacher supply store. I would check to see if your area has a teacher resource center. You can usually go there to make items for centers and it is free, just bring your own supplies, mine we have to bring paper and everything else is free they even have books such as teachers helper and mailbox that you can use to get ideas from.

You can also find lots of things at the dollar store and target dollar spot you just have to think out the box because many of these items are not made for educational purposes. Some things I like to get a small books, spoons ( for pointers) serving trays with three parts for use with blending and addition or subtraction, letter magnets, dry erase boards, storage buckets and bins, magnetic pencil holders ( I use for task card holders), and the list could go on an on.
runamouth is offline   Reply With Quote

Becca4

Center Ideas
Old 06-21-2011, 10:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Read the Room Pointers: cute flyswats, magic wand, bubble wands {all can be found at Dollar Tree}

Magnetic Letters, cookie sheet

Letter or Word Tiles {I found at Walmart a few years ago}