How often do school counselor go into classrooms? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

School Mental Health

How often do school counselor go into classrooms?

>

cardnialteach

How often do school counselor go into classrooms?
Old 11-10-2015, 03:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

i am curious how often other school counselors go into individual classrooms and length of time each visit. Also, T what levels do you visit regularly? Our new Commissioner of Education is rolling out a new plan for the direction of education in our state and one of his goals is the role of the school counselor. Curious what others do on a regular basis.

Do you have a set curriculum or program you use with students? I know I am weak in career counseling, but find that a difficult area for elementary level.

cardnialteach is offline   Reply With Quote

eeza

counselors in the classroom
Old 11-10-2015, 04:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm a school psychologist, but I work closely with my school counselors.

They seem to go into the classroom (high school level) about once a semester or so and it seems to be for about full period. They guide students through pre-college computer assessments and later in the year they discuss scheduling for the next year. I don't believe they have any set curriculum for the students.

My district does not have counselors at the elementary level that focus on career counseling. We recently got some mental health clinicians through the county, which is nice, but they book up really fast because there is such a need.
eeza is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy

Old 11-10-2015, 08:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3