Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Funny nostalgia about the 90’s

>

WordFountain

Funny nostalgia about the 90’s
Old 11-11-2021, 05:48 AM

I saw this on Buzzfeed. I’d probably agree with most of these. I am a child of the ‘90’s. I graduated high school in ‘99.
I’d love to hear your thoughts.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/briangalind...bout-the-1990s

WordFountain is offline   Reply With Quote

c6g

Old 11-11-2021, 06:52 AM

The article certainly brought back some old memories. It made me think back to 1991 when we bought our first computer, a very basic one, for about $1,300. We also indulged in a 24 pin dot matrix printer for the then very reasonable price of $350.

Having a modem in our computer gave us some exciting possibilities, but to go online, it meant tying up the phone line. We'd run a ten-foot cord from a phone jack to the computer . . . and be careful not to trip over it. There were a number of online service providers including GEnie (which we had for a short time), AOL, Prodigy, and CompuServe, which had features like online chatting, games, message forums, etc.

In the mid 1990s, we discovered a new and exciting thing called email. We were on a tight budget, and discovered a free way to do it. Computer programmers at the University of Minnesota had come up with the Gopher Protocol, and its use spread.
https://mncomputinghistory.com/gopher-protocol/

For us, Gopher made a number of new things possible. One could dial into some large university computer networks that used Gopher (if I remember correctly, there were often a limited number of spots for guests), and from there, it was possible to "go online." There were no graphics or videos, but it was still an interesting new adventure. I seem to remember time limits of about an hour for many of these online sessions.