Help

BusyBoard

Please advice I'm stuck

>

mom23kids

Please advice I'm stuck
Old 01-27-2019, 07:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been a spec ed teacher for 27 years. This is my 28th year and this year for the very first time I'm a resource (setss, pullout ) teacher. I have around 4 or 5 kids that just cant catch on to reading. I am NOT a reading teacher in fact I've actually never taught below 3rd grade so this is really new to me. However, I am very proactive and have researched, spoke to their teachers, done a ton to help them read. They are STILL stuck on cvc words as welll as sight words. They can see the word cat over and over again and STILL have to finger tap it. This goes for all their cvc words. I have done sand writing, rainbow writing, finger tapping, sky writing, shaving cream, walking and making the letter, and other things too. PLEASE HELP ME! How can I get these kids to read?? Any help or strategies would be greatly appreciated! Thank you
(My p won't allow me to do Wilson..(I have been sneaking it in tho) Please advice needed.. I'm at a loss

Last edited by mom23kids; 01-27-2019 at 07:50 AM..
mom23kids is offline   Reply With Quote

iteachk2010

Old 01-27-2019, 12:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

For sight words, divide the big list into smaller lists-five words on each list. Be strategic in how you organize the lists. i.e. I teach kindergarten. I would not put the word said on the first couple of lists because I know my students will not encounter that word in the first books they read. We have words that they will see in Level A books and will want to use in their writing. So, the first list for kindergarten might look like this-I, see, like, a, the. Work with one list at a time. After students master one list, you can have them warm up by doing a flashcard drill of the known introduced sight words before you introduce a new word.

Introduce a word: