Help

BusyBoard

Asking for a teacher conference for a 1st grader

>

LuvsPixieDust

Asking for a teacher conference for a 1st grader
Old 02-08-2019, 09:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a middle school teacher of 27 years, but I am trying to help someone near and dear to me who is having issues with her child's 1st grade teachers and in my opinion being WAY too strict, but then again, I am not experienced in this age group.

The child is has always been super excited about learning (maybe a little too excited at times about learning), but has a sweet heart and tries to do well. He has always loved, loved, loved school, but now is crying at night and not wanting to go to school.

Some issues--child threw up at school and then got in trouble in P.E. for not wanting to participate that day. Mother was not contacted to pick him up after he threw up. Teacher did not believe him.

Child has received checkmarks for behavior for picking up a pencil when the teacher told them to put them down while she talked. Received a checkmark for flipping open and closing his hand sanitizer top while waiting for afternoon bus dismissal. Used the sink the classroom, but did not know it was off limits so a checkmark.

There are several other things I could list that concern me. I teach in a district that is much less strict. The mom thought at first in the fall it was just an adjustment period, but it has gotten much worse. Sometimes the child does not even understand why checkmarks are given. If they get 1 checkmark for the week they don't participate in Friday Fun days.

Mom has never received any positive notes from either teacher this year.

This school has a reputation as one of the best in the state. I am sure there is tremendous pressure with test score.

As a teacher, how would you prefer a parent approach this in a conference? I am trying to give advice.

Thanks for reading. My heart is sad for my dear one.

Last edited by LuvsPixieDust; 02-08-2019 at 09:29 PM..