Help

Substitute Teachers

Michigan long-term sub rules/laws

>

bagano1

Michigan long-term sub rules/laws
Old 11-06-2019, 03:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

If you're uncertified, you can only be in a job for 90 calendar days, right? The school I am at can't make me stay longer than that? I'm not certified and not in the core subject I majored in.

I see some uncertified subs stay at jobs for an entire year, but they are just overseeing a class with Chromebooks. Is that different from a regular classroom or is the school violating the law/rule?

bagano1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Aillya

Old 11-07-2019, 11:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

In my district, the limit is 30 days but sometimes the district plays favorites and lets their darling retired teachers stay well beyond that, even if it's not a subject they specialize in and the kids are gaining nothing from it since their work with the kids amounts to sitting on their laptop or reading a book all period while the kids figure things out for themselves. Seen it more than once. Got stuck taking over when people like that finally decided they had enough money at the expense of 200 kids and had to bring them back from it every single time. It's infuriating.