Help

Second Grade

asking to go to the bathroom

>

missmaths

asking to go to the bathroom
Old 04-23-2017, 12:19 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi it is my first year teaching. i am currently teaching 6/7 year olds , and i am getting rather fed up with the constant requests to go to the bathroom. I am getting several requests each lesson. Should i just tell them no and to hold it.

they can go at

8.55-9.10
10.20-10.40
12.10-1.10

Any opinions or advice welcome
Thanks.

missmaths is offline   Reply With Quote

Keltikmom

Bathroom
Old 04-23-2017, 11:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have two rubber ducks, one for boys, one for girls. If they HAVE to go, they just put the duck on their desk and leave. No one else can go until the duck comes back. Cuts down on the power of suggestion.

Never tell them to hold it. Guaranteed one day a child will pee their pants and parents will come screaming.
Keltikmom is online now   Reply With Quote

MAMASUZE

Getting out of work
Old 04-23-2017, 04:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I've notice that my hibitual offenders are often the ones who do not want to do something, i.e. Math facts practice, phonics drills, center time, usually things they do not like. I try to put them off by asking is it an emergency, and that they have to wait until after instruction and if the emergency is still there, then ok place a boy or girls pass on their table and go. Many times the urge has left them and they go on with their work. You give them plenty of opportunity and they need to make good use of it.
MAMASUZE is offline   Reply With Quote

missmaths

update
Old 04-24-2017, 02:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

just a quck update i have decided to just remind the children before breaks to use the bathroom and hen just say no.

today at 9.20 ten minutes after a chance to go, i had 2 girls ask to go, i just said sorry they should have gone before they came into class and to wait. Never came back and asked again and managed to wait an hour until the next break.