Help

The VENT

Wishing I could quit

>

mrteacherguy

Wishing I could quit
Old 11-29-2018, 08:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

A few years ago, after a rough time as a first year teacher, I had an amazing year as a second year teacher; it was one of those years that embodies the whole reason I became a teacher. I had an awesome group of 6th graders, there were a few with attitude/behaviors, but for the most part they were a great group of kids and everything just seemed to go well that year.

Since then, for the last several years it's just been down hill. I'm in my sixth year, have a group of 7th graders (I made the mistake of moving up with them) that make almost every day a difficult one; oftentimes I end the day and can physically feel the stress in my body, and several times a week - sometimes a couple of times a day - I'll have a class period that I wish I could just walk out of, as the behavior/lack of respect is so bad.

Admin claims they are aware of how difficult this particular group can be, but little is done to help me. I talked with my assistant principal about how overwhelmed and helpless I'm feeling with this group this year, but nothing has been done about it other than to blame me or reprimand me for sending "too many" students to RTC (the responsible thinking classroom, the sole purpose of which is to remove disruptive students so that we can actually teach our class).

I'm feeling so conflicted, because part of me wishes I could quit and move on, but at the same time I'm not the kind of person who wants to quit and I don't want to let down my family and coworkers and the handful of good students.

mrteacherguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Ruby tunes

Change
Old 11-29-2018, 10:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2