How do you teach and be a decent parent? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

How do you teach and be a decent parent?

>

NewMOMMY8192

NewMOMMY8192

How do you teach and be a decent parent?
Old 12-17-2018, 01:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

I just had my first baby and will be going back into my middle school classroom in the next couple of weeks. I have been teaching for 18+ years, but am not sure how to manage teaching and taking care of my baby. I teach ELA in a middle school and am not sure how I will correct papers, plan lessons, be present and focused on my child and have 5 minutes for myself. I have a 40 minute commute and have thought of finding a job closer to where I live, but with my amount of years of teaching getting hired could be tricky. Plus I would start at the bottom again. So how do you do it all? What do I let go of? Even though I have been teaching for many years there are more and more demands that are placed on us. Personally, I thinking of getting out of the profession to avoid the constant stress and grueling pace, although the vacation schedule is extremely helpful with daycare schedules. I am very interested in hearing people's thoughts and opinions on this. I have been out on maternity leave and taking care of the baby is hard work, but my stress level is so much lower not having to deal with all of the behavior plans, SLOS, goal setting, parent emails, new curriculum changes, "extra" theme activities, correcting papers, pointless meetings, etc. If you did leave teaching what career path did you take?

southernfried

Old 12-17-2018, 05:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I teach middle school ELA and have an almost-one year old. It's definitely hard, but what makes it work for me:

- a hubby who's in 50/50. He's a teacher too, so our workloads and schedules are almost identical. Thus, everything childcare and household is equal, too.