Long term sub is making me severely depressed

>

PandaEyes

PandaEyes

Long term sub is making me severely depressed
Old 04-05-2019, 03:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello. First time posting.

So lets just get down to the facts. I have a degree in teaching and was hoping to find my career in teaching. I would be able to move out of my parents home and have my own place and all the great benefits. My mom is always there for me to remind me about all the great benefits. Been in a day care for about a year and a half before I left that job. Got my old retail job back at full time but I don't want to be in retail forever.

Lo and behold I get a sub job. And not just a one day sub job but a LTS. Keep in mind, my only experience having a full time experience in a classroom was in student teaching and only one out of the 3 experiences was enjoyable (first one treated me more like a para for extra work until I needed to provide lessons plans but never showed me how to read pacing guides or find materials, second one the teacher was always yelling at me and having harsh conversations with me when I didn't understand something).

So despite my bad experiences I still wanted to try it. I took the LTS job while balancing another job on top of it because I can't lose my benefits. Now I am severely depressed. Teacher left a list of things to do but they've been struggling for weeks trying to fill the position so I didn't know what was done and what wasn't done. Kids are hard (not too many behavioral issues thank god) and it's a grade I'm not used to. 5th grade spec ed. The instructions are also vague and gives me room to be flexible but I felt lost for the first few weeks.