Help

Substitute Teachers

Curious what you do for summer income

>

cassie23

Curious what you do for summer income
Old 05-29-2019, 03:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Today and tomorrow are my last two sub days for the year. This has been my first year subbing (after years at home raising kids). I have had some great sub experiences (3-week Kindergarten job) and not-so-great. I am curious what subs do for summer income if you're not someone who's already retired. I may look for different work since I'm no one's preferred sub yet (even though I do a good job and always leave a friendly note) and am just not making enough doing this. There is a lot of competition for jobulator jobs in my districts. If you're not already on your phone, they are gone in a flash!
Thanks for any input. Everyone, enjoy your summer!

cassie23 is offline   Reply With Quote

Tapdancesub

Old 05-29-2019, 11:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Iíve done a few things: elementary summer school (when itís offered), summer school SEA, and summer camp craft teacher. Fortunately my husband has a good job, and my job helps offset college costs. I have a couple retail applications in one is for a craft teacher at Michaels. I get requested as a sub quite a bit so I am pretty busy. But Iím really looking to find something else. After 12 years, Iím kinda done with it.
Tapdancesub is offline   Reply With Quote

cassie23

Me, too
Old 05-30-2019, 02:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I hope you get one of the jobs you applied for. I feel I have pretty good classroom management skills but yesterday was two half-day jobs in Kindergarten and they were tough! It truly felt like herding cats. I'm looking for something else this summer too. I think if I stuck with it I would eventually be busier but my husband lost his job a month ago which makes finding something full-time kind of a necessity now. Thanks for your reply!
cassie23 is offline   Reply With Quote

SubMan

Old 05-30-2019, 04:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4