I知 a new sub and these classes are breaking me down. Any advice would be great - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Substitute Teachers

I知 a new sub and these classes are breaking me down. Any advice would be great

>

PygmyTea

PygmyTea

I知 a new sub and these classes are breaking me down. Any advice would be great
Old 11-14-2018, 07:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I recently started working as a substitute teacher for New York. I’ve been subbing for about 4-5 months. Lately I have been feeling on giving up on it and I’m not sure what to do anymore. I try everything and the students don’t listen no matter what school I go to. My very first day of subbing I was asked by a 3rd grader “What would you do if I stabbed you with scissors?” I was just beyond stunned and had nothing to really say besides “Okay let’s get back to Math.” This past week at a different school a 4th grader held a classroom chair above his head.. screaming in my face, while the classroom para sat there on her phone recording him to show to his parents, not helping at all.

Today, I hit my breaking point because this second grade class I had was just insane. I felt like such a failure because I couldn’t even get them to listen to me for more that 5 minutes. I was struggling to even have them on a line in the hallway and I just felt the judging eyes of all the classroom teachers around me as I’m basically begging a child to get in line because he was sliding down the wall, going down a different hallway and the class was late to lunch. Someone eventually helped but I only believe that it was because my class was being too loud in the hallway. I felt so terrible that I could not get this class to lunch, and on my way back to the room I just broke down crying.