First Year Teacher About to be a New Mom... and I Think About Quitting Every Day - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

New Teachers

First Year Teacher About to be a New Mom... and I Think About Quitting Every Day

>

1styeareng

1styeareng

First Year Teacher About to be a New Mom... and I Think About Quitting Every Day
Old 01-23-2016, 08:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I feel like I'm in quite a pickle. I am a first year teacher starting the teaching game mid-year. That in itself has been challenging, but that hasn't been the only issue. I started with NO curriculum, and I am the ONLY high school English teacher, meaning I was supposed to teach four classes... which would have been fine, if the principal didn't decide to change one of my English classes into a "Journalism" class in order to get the IEP kids out of taking the PARCC so that the scores look better. I now teach 5 classes, one of them being a dual credit with the local community college, with no curriculum. I basically take it week by week, which turns into day by day. I have no idea where we are going, what we are doing, and I think of checkpoints, objectives, standards, assessments as we go along.