Help

New Teachers

Don't Think I Can Do It...

>

musicnote210

Don't Think I Can Do It...
Old 01-26-2016, 08:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I hate to be a statistic, but I just don't think I can teach any more. I'm a first year teacher at a tough district. Tough as in academically. I have amazing support from my administration and department. Here is my situation.

I got this job last August. It required me to move 3 hours away from my family. My fiance (boyfriend at the time) works in the trades with his own business, so he was able to move after his current contract was up in November. Man those were the hardest 4 months. That's when this all started. I started getting panic attacks from being alone. Nothing to do with the job (I thought.) People started noticing that I wasn't my "happy" self. I was in denial and asked what they were talking about.

Finally the fiance moved in with me, and things seemed fine. He got a great job and seemed happy, but every day was a struggle to get up and go to work. I quickly used up more than half of my sick days on exhaustion and real sickness. The district just expects so much from the teachers, and I wasn't able to keep up. Keep in mind that I have never had this problem before. I've always been a straight A student and have always gone above and beyond. But this job was killing me. I loved the teaching part; it was everything else that I couldn't keep up with.

Christmas break came, and I dreaded going back. I barely made it the first week when I was diagnosed with a UTI. I took too long to do something about it, and it turned into a kidney infection. The second week back from break, I had to use up the rest of my sick days because I was in so much pain. But I was actually happy. In a weird way, this sickness gave me an excuse to just rest. But then came the end of my sick days.