Help

New Teachers

How do I get students excited??

>

mmccarthy2

How do I get students excited??
Old 02-16-2016, 11:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a current college student and I think one of the things I am most nervous about in having my own classroom is keeping the students engaged. What are the best ways to get students excited about a traditionally "boring" lesson? What are some ways to grab their attention?

mmccarthy2 is offline   Reply With Quote

uoducks

There is no secret answer,
Old 02-16-2016, 06:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

But...play lots of different types of music to create mood/atmosphere (high energy or calm), sign up with gonoodle and figure out the right videos for the right moments, lose your ego and be a little bit insane, grow a thick alligator skin, develop a strong management plan (read tools for teachers by Jones), bookmark lots of fun youtube videos for brain breaks, and find a mentor teacher. Be high energy and fun, but also mean business when it comes to management. You're not there to entertain or be friends.
The real truth is that some kids and adults are uningaged people. I teach 5th grade and am an adjunct for grad students. I have highly engaged students in both and a few who are uncoachable in both.

Your job is to provide the tools and create the best atmosphere. You'll have engagement from 70%. Have realistic expectations.
Good luck!
uoducks is offline   Reply With Quote

dubby

Old 02-16-2016, 08:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

The best way to engage your student in any lesson is to have an obtainable predictable learning outcome (objective) with a predictable way to deliver it (structure).

Maybe you meant is "how do I hook a student during the introduction of a lesson?"
You can do that by getting to know them and their interests. Once you do, linking their learning to what interest them is pretty easy. Also for some strange reason, students are always fascinated with teacher's telling stories.