Help

Second Grade

Clip Chart or Stoplight

>

tatasurvivor

Clip Chart or Stoplight
Old 07-21-2012, 06:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

As a second grade teacher, I'm really trying to work harder at improving classroom management. I have read a lot about the clip chart (moving clips up and down) for inappropriate and exceptional behavior. The problem appears to be remembering to move clips up. I have also read about the stoplight that Laura Candler created, where students add colored strips to their "green" for inappropriate behavior. I would like teachers opinions especially if you have used one or both of these ideas.

tatasurvivor is offline   Reply With Quote

hopeful10

Clip chart!!!
Old 07-21-2012, 08:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I vote for the clip chart! It is what I will be using my classroom this year. I really LOVE how it focuses more on positive behavior than negative behavior. I know it is going to be a challange to remember to move the clips up, but already knowing that is one thing I will have to look out for is a good start.

I've used the stop light in the past with Kinder and found it to be a very negative experience. One of my kinders cried so loud when I told her to move her clip that the other 2 K teachers came over to my room and asked me if everything was ok. I will never use the stoplight system again.
hopeful10 is offline   Reply With Quote

abf626

Clip Chart
Old 07-21-2012, 11:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Oh I am clip chart all the way. I love that thing so much! I do allow kids to give me reasons they think people should clip up (we do bucket filling, too) so that helps me remember to clip kids up, and we take our chart everywhere... so if the whole class behaves extremely well in the cafeteria, the monitor clips them up, or if they are great in Music/Art/PE/Library, those teachers know and clip the kids up, or tell me they need to clip up... just let all those people know what you are doing, and they help, too!