4abue

Sewing Machine for Beginners
Old 06-17-2020, 03:48 PM

Any recommendations? Iím a total beginner.TIA

4abue is offline   Reply With Quote

Keltikmom

Sewing machine
Old 06-17-2020, 04:55 PM

I would look for a used one. Singer is a name brand. Domestic and White are brands from my high school days but donít know if theyíre still around.

You want something simple: backwards, forwards, zipper and buttonhole attachments are super handy. If itís used and a name brand, you can get the manual on line most of the time.

If you want a brand new one, I recommend going to Joannís or a sewing machine/vacuum cleaner store. Weirdly, they tend to be together. Keep firm in what you want and donít let them up sell.
Keltikmom is online now   Reply With Quote

annie_g

Old 06-17-2020, 05:49 PM

I would go with an entry level Juki. I just bought a super deluxe one, but I sew a lot. I love the Juki brand. An entry level Brother would be good, too. I have not read good things about the newer Singers, but I don't have personal experience. I have a Brother cs6000i that I am upgrading to the Juki from. It's been a good machine. I just want some different features now. So a Brother is good, but I think the Juki brand is exceptional. I have a Juki serger which I absolutely love! I don't really know what their lower priced machines go for, but I think you need to spend at least $200 to get anything decent. Have fun!
annie_g is online now   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 06-17-2020, 06:10 PM

Iím on my second basic Singer. Iím a moderate seamstress. I think Iíd buy another brand next time. My momís 1960ís Singer is still going strong, and so is my Singer treadle machine. Newer ones have lots of plastic parts that break easily. Thatís true with plastic in general, though.
Ima Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

knit1purl2

Brother machine from Costco
Old 06-17-2020, 06:56 PM