Help

Fifth Grade

Extra Credit Help

>

cowpig

Extra Credit Help
Old 10-11-2009, 06:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Many of my kids are making a C or lower in math right now. We are almost at the end of our 9 weeks grading period, and I have tried EVERYTHING I can think of to get these grades up. There really is no reason why they should be so low in the first place because most of this grading period has been 4th grade review like place value and adding/subtracting. Some of the straight A and AIG students are making C's and many parents are upset. A majority of the low grades have came from students not following directions and making careless mistakes. One parent asked me about giving extra credit work. I am new to 5th grade, so I have no idea what to do. Any suggestions for what kind of work to give and how to count it? Our grading period ends Oct. 28 so I would like it all to be turned in by next Friday (Oct. 23) so I can have plenty of time to grade it. Or do you think I should even give it at all?

lynnylubner

Old 10-11-2009, 06:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Personally I don't believe in extra credit to make up for a poor performance. They still have time to bring their grade up - two weeks.
I would tell them to work extra hard to be prepared for the next test.
Do you have a test scheduled from now until the end of the nine weeks?

I just did my report cards and out of 27, only 7 are on the honor roll.
I think it's good that they know they have to work hard all nine weeks, not just a spurt at the end.

Good luck...parents can be a big pain!

GreyhoundGirl

Old 10-11-2009, 07:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

No, I don't believe in extra credit. They're making the choice to not follow directions or take their time and these are the consequences. Better they learn the lesson now and see it in black and white in the first quarter when they can fix it in time for state testing and the rest of the year.