Help

ARCHIVE

Is first grade really that bad?

>

jcm92

Is first grade really that bad?
Old 07-23-2007, 07:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am an aspiring teacher. I would love to teach first grade because I love working around littler kids. But, I have heard a lot of negative stuff about first grade. For example: "the kids do not follow the rules and they do not listen, they are so dependent they can't even wipe their own nose." Is all of that stuff true? Whenever I tell someone that I want to teach first grade they are so surprised. Is first grade really that bad?

BevAnn

My Experience
Old 07-23-2007, 08:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

When I first became a teacher I wanted to teach second grade or higher, but after being assigned a first grade class during my master's program internship, I can say that was the best thing for me! I have taught first grade now for 13 years and I have to tell you that it is such a magical grade. The changes and growth that occur from August to May are tremendous; from learning to read and write to being able to solve problems and articulate their thinking! As for the comment about "the kids do not follow the rules and they do not listen..." that can be a true statement about any grade really. With good modeling, guidance, and a good structure from the beginning, first graders can be independent learners that will always hold a special place in your heart!

Mrs. O

I teach second right now, but
Old 07-23-2007, 08:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I loved first and would go back anytime. The kids do know how to follow rules, if you know how to introduce the procedures. Granted it does take a little longer, but it is only their 2nd or 3rd year of school.
Personally, I thought my year in 6th grade was the toughest.

Socks

First Grade
Old 07-23-2007, 08:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4