Dave Ramsey people...which to pay first? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Dave Ramsey people...which to pay first?

>

Miller

Dave Ramsey people...which to pay first?
Old 05-01-2015, 06:35 PM

Pay off an $8,000 3% interest car loan
or
pay off $4,600 14% interest credit card bill

the car loan should be finished pay in a year and a half should we keep paying on schedule.

Miller is offline   Reply With Quote

tripteach

money
Old 05-01-2015, 06:38 PM

When we did Dave's way we paid off smallest to largest debt, but we still kept current on all of our loans/bills. We are now debt-free, yep, even the house. It is a pretty sweet feeling and no, we don't make lots of money. I am a teacher (duh) and my hubby works at a hardware store. We just stayed the course!
tripteach is offline   Reply With Quote

bison06

Old 05-01-2015, 06:39 PM

Dave says biggest balance first BUT in your case I think I would continue paying car on schedule and put all your extra into credit card until it is paid off.

ETA: Maybe it is smallest to biggest... IDK, I'm tired.
bison06 is offline   Reply With Quote

CricketSpecEd

debt snowball
Old 05-01-2015, 06:41 PM

Pay off the smaller debt first, according to Dave. So pay off tje credit card first.
CricketSpecEd is offline   Reply With Quote

Renea

Dave..
Old 05-01-2015, 06:48 PM

Dave suggests you pay the SMALLEST debts first. It's called the snowball pay-off system. He doesn't figure the interest rate into deciding which debt to pay off.

Renea is offline   Reply With Quote

twinmom95

Old 05-01-2015, 07:06 PM