Help

Second Grade

Opinions on Journeys and Wonders reading series

>

packerfan

Opinions on Journeys and Wonders reading series
Old 05-18-2015, 02:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I would really appreciate any opinions on either reading series if you use them. We are looking at both and there are pros & cons to both as with any series. Tell me what you like and what you don't like.

Thanks!

packerfan is offline   Reply With Quote

tweet

Journeys
Old 05-19-2015, 08:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

While this is my first year in 2nd grade after many years in 3rd, I've used the Texas Journeys for a couple of years. Not a great fan. The stories aren't bad, but we are an Accelerated Reading school, and I don't like the order of the stories for that. The very first story is something like 2.7, followed by a 3rd grade level story, till finally the 3rd story is 2.3! I also very much dislike the workbook organization. I would prefer that the pages be organized in a way so that the front and back match--phonics to phonics, comprehension to comprehension, etc. There are often an odd number of pages per story, so you can't tear out the last workbook page for one story because the backside is the first page for the next story!
tweet is offline   Reply With Quote

JBVTeach2

Journeys
Old 05-23-2015, 01:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3