Need Advice and help in Self Contained Classroom!!!! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Special Education

Need Advice and help in Self Contained Classroom!!!!

>

smiley75

Need Advice and help in Self Contained Classroom!!!!
Old 12-30-2009, 07:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher in special education teaching in a self contained classroom. My students are in the 4th, 5th and 6th grades and all have emotional disabilities and some with learning disabilities. I am having a horrible time with my academics and am extremely overwhelmed!! The instructional levels range from early 2nd grade level to 6th grade. I just can't seem to organize anything or find a good starting place. I seem to become consumed by the whole picture and just don't know where to start. I have tried different things to no avail. I want a fresh start for the 2nd semester and am looking for ideas to help get me motivated instead of being so overwhelmed and stressed! I have asked for help but haven't gotten anything specific to help me. I have thought about centers, but am not sure how to organize or get started.
I have never really struggled much with lessons before, but the wide range of abilities has just thrown me and I can't seem to regain any sense of direction. I am experiancing burnout quickly!! HELP!!!!!!!

smiley75 is offline   Reply With Quote

kristabel

Old 12-31-2009, 05:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

smiley,