Help

Sunflower Room

Meaningful Connections

>

mel10597

Meaningful Connections
Old 08-10-2011, 05:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first time posting but I have a feeling I will be here more often. I am just beginning with Reader's Workshop and I am sooo excited about it! I have taught first grade but now I am at a new school with an enviornment in which everyone is working together to develop reader's workshop.

My question is does anyone have lessons on meaningful connections that really worked well to make the point clear to their students? We are getting into schema next week and my coworker and I were talking and she said last year what she did didn't really make it clear to the students, differentiate "fluff" connections and meaningful connections. Any books, ideas or suggestions are much appreciated!

VAreader

Connections
Old 08-11-2011, 08:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

MODEL MODEL MODEL with books that you love and you think will have common themes among the students in your class.

I read the book Fireflies by Julie Brinkloe as almost everyone has caught fireflies before. I've also read the book Not Afraid of Dogs. I have also read Eve Bunting's Twinnies as almost every student has dealt with sibling rivalry.

I model with a book called Fog Cat because I love the beach, Maine, and cats. I do a lot of modeling with Fog Cat and discuss what it makes me think of. The next day I go back and retell the story with a picture walk.

I use T charts making one column quotes from book and the other column my connections. We then go through the connections determining which ones are helpful and which ones are not.

Then I do it again with another book.

Depending on how the class is responding, I then do a whole class connections lesson with sticky notes and we create a post it note poster and then go back and decide which connections help further understanding.