Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

Parent Issues

>

special328k

Parent Issues
Old 08-18-2019, 08:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been a teacher for over 20 years and am at a loss here.
A few months ago, I moved to a new classroom because of an unexpected teacher move. There have been several teacher moved(maternity, retirement)

A few weeks ago, I get an email from a parent saying their little girl is saying that I'm "squeezing" her during Circle(not true) and I explain that it's been a thing in their classroom all year that they give themselves "squeezes" on their own arms as a transition from the bathroom TO Circle time and was started LONG before I came into the classroom.
This week, the little girl didn't nap, so I explained that she needed to be quiet so her friends could sleep and gave her books and then puzzles and some little things to play with to keep her busy during nap. (Also, her parent came to pick up as I was the only teacher with 4 Toddlers all in the bathroom~not the best time to devote 100% of my time to a high maintenance parent)
At one point during the morning, she took off IN THE PARKING LOT when she wasn't listening. We talked about how listening is important and that we need to keep our bodies safe.
There was an argument during playtime between two other children that if they don't go to sleep they won't grow. I said something to the affect that yes, out bodies to need sleep to grow, just like we need healthy foods to grow, like the yummy strawberries we had for snack this morning(distraction! But remember this!)