The VENT

Add/Drop Period Woes...

>

TreeHugs80

TreeHugs80

Add/Drop Period Woes...
Old 08-29-2019, 01:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a high school teacher with a colleague who teaches many of the same (world language) classes. While we have different styles, we teach the same curriculum. She is definitely more experienced, but I'm doing better each year. I always dread this add/drop period (second week of school), because I inevitably overhear students talking about switching to her class (or vice versa, sometimes students try to get into my class). It hurts my feelings when they switch out, but I know I shouldn't take it so personally (or I'll go crazy). I'm already stressing over the potential changes to my class roster. Have any of you had students drop your class because they prefer your colleague? I just had to get it out, thanks for reading.

cruxian

Old 08-29-2019, 05:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I TOTALLY get it. I'd one hundred percent feel the same way.
I will say, from the outside point of view, that the adds/drops may have nothing to do with you (seriously). DD's in high school. Her "friend" just transferred into her history class. Why? Because she wanted to be with DD. (DD's annoyed by the girl's drama so is less than thrilled. She was like, "Well, she can't sit next to me. The teacher assigns seats and there's no empty one near me.") So it could be something like that.